Destiny Will Be Briefly Down for Maintenance on May 17th

The maintenance period is expected to last about four hours.

Bungie has announced that Destiny will be taken down for a bit of maintenance on Wednesday, May 17th. According to Bungie’s latest weekly report, the maintenance period will begin at 10 a.m. PST (1 p.m. EST) and should end by 2 p.m. PST (5 p.m. EST).

While the maintenance is going on, Destiny’s servers will be unavailable, and users also won’t be able to access certain features of the Bungie website and Destiny companion app. The weekly report also confirmed that Bungie is aware of the ongoing issue which is preventing statistics from the ongoing Iron Banner event to appear on Bungie’s website.

A fix for the issue should be rolling out this week (it wasn’t made clear if the fix will be included in the maintenance period or if it will be deployed separately). While the maintenance is going on, fans will be able to prepare for the worldwide gameplay reveal of Destiny 2 which is set to happen a day later on May 18th.

For more on the latest Destiny news here at DestinyDB, be sure to check out the meaningful PC features that Destiny 2 will have according to Bungie, recap the return of Destiny's Iron Banner event, and see what was on offer during last week's Destiny Armsday event.  

About The Author: Nate Hohl

Nate Hohl has been a gamer all his life, but it wasn't until after graduating college that he realized he could combine his love of gaming and his passion for writing to help support the industry he cares so deeply about. When he isn't writing about games (or playing them), Nate enjoys reading a good work of fiction (mysteries are his favorite), watching movies, or going for hikes in the woods.

Read My Articles